What happened to me?

So I have made a rather startling discovery about myself. Sometime, without my knowledge, I have matured. I mean, age wise I am 44 years old, in my head, I am in my early 20’s. However, recent conversations have made me realize that I have accepted difficult situations and learned how to deal with them. And I am trying to teach T that as well.

Exhibit A: T and K are best friends as concluded in previous blogs. And than there is K2. K2 is an interloper, he has no holding in the friendship of T and K but as the other neighbor, he is used as a stop gap. When T or K is not available to play or hang out, K2 will do. Today I made T and K go outside and play. It was only -3 and the sun was shining. As they race out the door, T states that if K2 comes out they are going into the house. And I called him back.

I explained to him, that I understood, he and K go to different schools. He and K2 are in the same classroom and see one another every day. He and K only really have weekends and Wednesday to play. And Wednesday is for like a half hour. However, if K2 came out to play, I felt that they should play with him because it was not nice that they only wanted to spend time with him if one or the other was not here. T got it. He did come in but that was just because he was cold and refused to put on a real jacket.

Exhibit B: I no longer hate my ex. I no longer blame him for the choices that I made. I want us to be friends, not only because we share the most brilliant son but because we shared a life together for 20 years. There are certain things that only he is ever going to understand about me. There are certain inside jokes and bitching that I miss because he gets it. I fell out of love with him, but not the life we once shared. Those memories are so important and it has taken me a long time to accept that.

So I have matured. I have taken yet another step along the journey of my life. I am just not sure when or how it happened.

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

I am a single hard working mom in her early 40's. I have always written poetry and I love words. A self confessed obsessive book worm I live for my son and my down time to read. I have a vast array of friends and cohorts who I will be writing about. I hope I can make people laugh or cry; be thoughtful and understanding. And I need to write so this will be my voice.

Leave a Reply

