It’s the shortest and most ancient

Last Wednesday as T and me are driving to the dentist we are talking about his lack of reading. And how much it kills me because I am a voracious reader and I just do not understand. He does say to me ‘mom I know that it really bothers you and I do read, just not the way you do.’ Okay so maybe he might be humoring me but as I squinted at him sideways he grinned at me and I could not argue any further.

And than this happened:

‘So mom, you know the Eiffel Tower?’

I am a little confused because he is pronouncing the E like an I and I am not quite sure what he is asking me. So I make him repeat it at least three times before I understand.

‘Do you mean the Eiffel Tower in Paris?’

‘Yeah, I was researching it today. Did you know that it is the shortest building in the world?’

‘Um no buddy it isn’t. It is very tall. I think you might be confused because they give the height in meters.’

‘C’mon mom, I know.’

‘Buddy, no I am sorry. That is not true. It was an amazing creation. A masterpiece of it’s time. In WWII they actually blacked it out during a blitz so the Germans could not find it. I know buddy because I have read about this. There is an amazing book……’

‘So mom, when you win the lottery can we go to Paris? I wanna see the Eiffel Tower.’

‘Sure buddy. And maybe we need to do a little more research so you understand a little better.’

‘Hey mom, did you know in Egypt they have an ancient pyramid.’

And I must be a sucker for punishment. I know that he is 8 and I know that he will garble his facts but my OCD nature and just because the facts must be right, I have to correct him. Hence all the wonderful conversations we have had.

‘So which pyramid are we talking about?’

‘You know mom, that really ancient one.’

‘Um are we talking the Sphinx? The Giza Pyramids? The Valley of Kings?’

Moooooooooom, you know the ancient one.’

So I gave up. I listened to his happy chatter and bit my tongue. I tried not to point out to him that there were a lot of pyramids in Egypt. I ignored his facts on the Eiffel Tower. However he was really excited about the way the workers had to work on platforms that were on the outside of the tower. This is going to require further investigation.

So maybe I should actually consider this a win on the reading front? T might not be interested in reading fiction the way that I am. But he is showing an interest in history. I love history…….but shhhhhhhhh I have a secret, I like all history but Canadian. We are just so boring. LOL This is a starting point and from here I will push him into the deep end and nurture the need to learn about the past.

At least I know now that a trip to Paris and Egypt is on the books should I ever win the lottery.

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

I am a single hard working mom in her early 40's. I have always written poetry and I love words. A self confessed obsessive book worm I live for my son and my down time to read. I have a vast array of friends and cohorts who I will be writing about. I hope I can make people laugh or cry; be thoughtful and understanding. And I need to write so this will be my voice.

2 thoughts on “It’s the shortest and most ancient”

Leave a Reply

