Reality

There is a sort of wisdom that comes when you grow up

dreams become a thing of childhood and long summer nights

Reality so different from what was once planned…..

how am I suppose to cope?

I thought that I would be a princess in a tower so high

I thought that I would fight with sword drawn; dragon at my side

I thought I would sail the seven seas. A Pirate Queen

I thought…..I dreamed……I hoped……

Instead, I sit at the kitchen table, check book in hand

trying so hard to make the numbers jive.

Juggling the figures so that we are able to eat

bet you never thought that it would come to this.

Reality is a bitch that breaths down your neck

reality is the hardship that each and everyone of us face

Reality……fantasy…..reality……

wait, was that a pink rabbit I just saw?

©Jay-lyn Doerksen

March 15/17

 

 

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

I am a single hard working mom in her early 40's. I have always written poetry and I love words. A self confessed obsessive book worm I live for my son and my down time to read. I have a vast array of friends and cohorts who I will be writing about. I hope I can make people laugh or cry; be thoughtful and understanding. And I need to write so this will be my voice.

Leave a Reply

