Tarnished Paladan

The flames lick at me, scorching the armor I bear

weighing me down, pulling me further into the abyss.

I hear my princess scream, resistant

battling her way back from defeat.

I crawl forward on hands and knees

the keening I make? Or is that my soul?

I only know that I cannot give up,

I must go forward.

Forward to the woman I love,

forward to the future ordained,

Forward to the depths of hell

all so……

This story is old, as old as can be.

A King, A Queen, The Princess

and the knave that has her heart.

Only this time, there is no happy ending

there is no fond farewell.

There is only horror and hell

blood and pain

dancing in the slashing rain.

Insanity and narcissism

power and rage,

this is no fairy tale,

there will be no bliss.

 

©Jay-lyn Doerksen

May 19/17

 

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

I am a single hard working mom in her early 40's. I have always written poetry and I love words. A self confessed obsessive book worm I live for my son and my down time to read. I have a vast array of friends and cohorts who I will be writing about. I hope I can make people laugh or cry; be thoughtful and understanding. And I need to write so this will be my voice.

Leave a Reply

