Tattered Queen

The queen arrives her head held high.

Tattered rags hang from her body.

Her lips glisten blood red.

Savage smiles strikes fear in your heart

for she has eaten you before.

Consumed your life, your desperation

she made you fear.

Running from the queen is not an option

pretending that she is not there

For time and time again

she will push through those doors.

Hide behind the glorious throne,

wishing that invisibility was true

For the Mad King and the Tattered Queen

both seek the means to hurt you.

 

© Jay-lyn Doerksen

May 19/17

 

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

I am a single hard working mom in her early 40's. I have always written poetry and I love words. A self confessed obsessive book worm I love for my son and my down time to read. I have a vast array of friends and cohorts who I will be writing about. I hope I can make people laugh or cry; be thoughtful and understanding. And I need to write so this will be my voice.

Leave a Reply

