Castle in the Sky

I lay upon the grassy knoll

staring at the sky above

creating sandcastles and dreams

from the clouds floating by.

Near my head

a silent vibrating phone

that I chose to ignore.

The pain I feel

the scorching of my soul

no words that you have spoken

will heal this scar.

Tears course down silvered cheeks

tiny lips quivering with fear

when above me it forms.

My Castle in the Sky.

My home away from here.

My Castle in the Sky.

Remember me with kindness.

 

©Jay-lyn Doerksen

June 5/17

 

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

I am a single hard working mom in her early 40's. I have always written poetry and I love words. A self confessed obsessive book worm I love for my son and my down time to read. I have a vast array of friends and cohorts who I will be writing about. I hope I can make people laugh or cry; be thoughtful and understanding. And I need to write so this will be my voice.

Leave a Reply

