Breaking Free

A great dense fog reaches out to embrace

pulling me forward, against my will

Leeching the life from my mind and soul

turning me into a starving waif.

I cry and I scream, silent hostility

pounding against the erected walls

Unable to break through into the light

tears coursing down my face.

Paint me up with a clown’s face, smile

ignore the beast that rumbles within

Pretend that the pain will ebb

and life shall always return.

Wrapped within the greyest of depression

unable to see the path to freedom

Stumbling to fall to my knees

my heart pierced and torn.

I cannot get away, I cannot recover

lost within this depressed state

Seeking a doorway to the light

feeling as though I shall be lost forever.

©Jay-lyn Doerksen

July 9/17

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

I am a single hard working mom in her early 40's. I have always written poetry and I love words. A self confessed obsessive book worm I live for my son and my down time to read. I have a vast array of friends and cohorts who I will be writing about. I hope I can make people laugh or cry; be thoughtful and understanding. And I need to write so this will be my voice.

1 thought on “Breaking Free”

  1. Absolutely incredible the way you so gracefully & vividly exhibited the intense emotions in such a creative way. Thanks for sharing such a soul touching post! According to your convenience please do read some of my writings would love to know what you think about them 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

