Triumph

Sittin on the end of the pier

staring out at wind swept waves

Curling and racing

tearing away my pain.

I don’ need no love

I don’ need no cares

All I need is belief in myself

And than I shall rise above.

You sought to tear me down

to eradicate

The beauty and truth I see

because it did not confirm

With your reals.

Who gave you the right?

The ability to judge and deem

that only your way is the path?

And those who do not follow

you make undone.

I sit on the end of the pier

wind dancing in my hair

Watching the glories of the day

as the sun rises high above.

©Jay-lyn Doerksen

July 12/17

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

I am a single hard working mom in her early 40's. I have always written poetry and I love words. A self confessed obsessive book worm I live for my son and my down time to read. I have a vast array of friends and cohorts who I will be writing about. I hope I can make people laugh or cry; be thoughtful and understanding. And I need to write so this will be my voice.

Leave a Reply

