A Little Lesson

Today T and me were suppose to clean.

It goes much faster when the two of us do it but I gave him a pass today. Despite feeling fine, he has a stuffed up nose and raspy cough.  I was sneezing like crazy this morning but doubled my dose of Vitamin C.

Also he agreed to make brunch and supper.

I had run the dishwasher and as I was cleaning the bathroom I asked T to turn the tap off in the kitchen.  And to open and close the door to reset the machine.

He absolutely agreed to do it and came out of his room to do so.

And then turned around and went to walk away.

I stuck my head out of the door and chuckled. Calling him back I had a small  chat with him.

Me: Buddy, I am going to say something. I am not asking you to unload the dishwasher. And this is not a trick so that you go to your room and I get mad. When I asked you to come out and turn the water off, open and close the door, it would be nice if you thought further to it would help mom if I unloaded the dishwasher.

T looks at me.

Me: Seriously buddy, you do not have to unload the dishwasher. I wanted to use this asca lesson to explain how you could see it. You were already standing there.

And I let him go back to his room. I unloaded the dishwasher and finished cleaning. T took the garbage and recycling out.

One day T will just do it. 

And it will be one more step towards adulthood.

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

A single hard working mom of a soon to be teenage son. A poet and story teller I have wanted to write since I was a child. This space is where I share stories about myself and my life and the creative poetry that stirs my soul. My hope is you will pull up a chair and a cup of coffee delving into the world that I offer and you find simple enjoyment for a few moments. Welcome to The Wonderful & Wacky World of One Single Mom

6 thoughts on “A Little Lesson”

  1. I hope he gets it someday, MINE REFUSED! 😂
    Now I have one workaholic, one that finally seems to have gotten it at 37, and one that works but otherwise thinks and acts like a teenager. Most texts from him are to watch some kind of silly video or musical video. He is over 40 and has to live with a family just to make it. But hey, all three are finally working at the same time. I guess that’s a win.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It is that next step. I figure at 15 him coming out to turn off water is a win. Same with throwing clothes in the dryer. I told him he was not to expect to be in a relationship where they both work but his partner does most of rhe work. That it can be done because it needs to be done. Not because it is viewed as a “chore”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s a very good point!! One of my sons is technically married and he thinks if he works, that’s all he has to do. I hope his gf doesn’t stand up for it. She looks like she could woop his butt, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.