When You Don’t Like Standing

How many bosses can say that they have employees come to them to complain about being paid to stand around for 3 hours and basically twiddle thumbs?

Most people I know would love to make their wage standing and pretty much not doing anything. Talking to all the people. Occasionally needing to help ring an order through.

Not enough to fill this woman’s time.

I had a conversation yesterday with my boss at which time I expressed my frustration about having to stand for 3 hours at self checkout. I am not overinflating my importance or what I do but to me those three hours are wasted pay. I am not doing anything.

I mentioned it was an ineffective use of my time for what he pays me.

I make a killer wage, which is why other than that I hate standing still, is why I feel like my value drops.

Obviously it does not but when you break it down to dollars and cents having me stand for 3 hours, yesterday was 3.5, seems wrong to me. I feel like he is wasting his money in me when I am just standing.

Now on the other hand, we have the employee who literally does nothing. Tuesday he wandered around talking to people, leaning on walls, leaning on counters, and not a lick of a word spoken to him.

I walked by as my boss was explaining to a young man how we could not hire him because we have to give this person 40 hours a week. And there would be no shifts for him. At that moment, he was standing talking to people leaning on the self checkout stand.

I imagine it must be hard to manage.

One employee who wants to be paid to do no work and one employee who feels that she is not giving enough bang for her buck when put at self checkout for 3 hours.

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

A single hard working mom of a soon to be teenage son. A poet and story teller I have wanted to write since I was a child. This space is where I share stories about myself and my life and the creative poetry that stirs my soul. My hope is you will pull up a chair and a cup of coffee delving into the world that I offer and you find simple enjoyment for a few moments. Welcome to The Wonderful & Wacky World of One Single Mom

2 thoughts on “When You Don’t Like Standing”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.