Babes at Arms

I scream into the abyss
My voice fading
Consumed by the darkness
Tears crawling
Toes slipping over the edge
Heart shudders
Blood thrumming in my ears
I can see it all
I can feel it all
I want it to stop
Why won't it stop
Why won't the world see?

I am a child.
I have not harmed.
I have not killed.
I have no one let to mourn
Should I die today.

I am a child.
I am starving.
I no longer produce tears.
That tiny bit of moisture too precious to waste.

I am a child.
Broken.
Battered.
Lost.

But I am the monster.
I am the creature hiding beneath their beds.
I see you.
I see your pretend piety.
I see your lips move.
I hear the words you speak.
But I do not comprehend.

I am a child.
Once I had a future.
Once I was the future.
But no more.

You have made me thus.
You have torn me apart.
As you feed upon my marrowed bones
Taste the olives that flows through my veins.

©June 15/24
The photo used is not mine. I have only cropped out my info and bottom bit. All credit to the individual who created post on Facebook and author of painting.

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

A single hard working mom of a soon to be teenage son. A poet and story teller I have wanted to write since I was a child. This space is where I share stories about myself and my life and the creative poetry that stirs my soul. My hope is you will pull up a chair and a cup of coffee delving into the world that I offer and you find simple enjoyment for a few moments. Welcome to The Wonderful & Wacky World of One Single Mom

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.