Giggles of the Week

A few things that made me laugh:
We have a flat of 30 med eggs on for $4.99. A pack of 18 large eggs is $4.62. Needless to say I was running back and forth a lot returning the 18’s and grabbing the ’30’s. I come back from grabbing a flat for a dad and daughter and hand them off. As I did I was asking the dad ‘to please flip the eggs over’ while I was gesturing to his Air Miles card. His daughter looks at me funny and slowly turns the eggs over. Her dad was laughing and I explained I had flipped the eggs with air miles because I had just finished getting the eggs for them. She starts to giggle and looks at her dad ‘well I thought she might know something about eggs we don’t. Maybe you should be turning your eggs upside down.’
With another customer segued from a conversation about candy from Nutty Club (Canadian Company makes candy and other things) into how I almost overdosed as a child due to thinking that sleeping pills were candy corn. This was the ’70’s fun and funky colors for all. As we were talking and my customer was rolling with laughter I came to the conclusion that I was and am still incredibly klutzy. I use myself as comedic fodder. Not sure if the stories are really as funny as I think they are or if it is the way the I tell it.
Tember announced today that he will never be able to come into Sobeys if I did not stop telling stories about him. Said how would anyone know who he was? I only tell my customers. It is not as though I am pulling out my phone and showing pictures of him. I am not describing him. Other than generically. 11 years old. Male. Blonde. Funny. Loves to talk. And will not shower. Yes that is right I am still living the struggle of a child who believes showering is an option not a requirement. And I nag way too much about this lack according to him.
Came home from work yesterday to dishes not being done. Chores in general not being done. And I called Tember out. He responds with ‘But mom I showered without you even having to nag at me!’ I look at him and ask ‘So which did you catch a whiff of? Feet or your pits?’ ‘My pits mom.’
Today has got to be the best yet:
‘Mom I do not know how you do it!’
‘How I do what?’
‘How do you get the dishes to not smell?’
He leaves glasses in his room and things congeal……this is why he is now in charge of doing the dishes on his week here.
Hope that I have given you a small smile at least.
Have a fabulous Wednesday Evening/Thursday Morning depending on where you are at.
©July 8/20

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

A single hard working mom of a soon to be teenage son. A poet and story teller I have wanted to write since I was a child. This space is where I share stories about myself and my life and the creative poetry that stirs my soul. My hope is you will pull up a chair and a cup of coffee delving into the world that I offer and you find simple enjoyment for a few moments. Welcome to The Wonderful & Wacky World of One Single Mom

6 thoughts on “Giggles of the Week”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.