New Era

Bleak
grey
uniform in concealing
army waiting in the woods
focus on the enemy
even if this is a war
that should never have been.
Flacid lips
propoganda
whispered in our ears
turning us
creating within
a battlefield
mired with land mines
broken body parts
a giant war machine at work.
Wondering how we got here
watching the world burn
leaders of all nations
violent
unable to bring peace to the table.
Mockery has been made
of the time all once knew
as savagely
a new era is born
of blood
of madness
of leaders
who no longer care.
Sept. 10/18
Photo by Jason Blackeye on Unsplash

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

A single hard working mom of a soon to be teenage son. A poet and story teller I have wanted to write since I was a child. This space is where I share stories about myself and my life and the creative poetry that stirs my soul. My hope is you will pull up a chair and a cup of coffee delving into the world that I offer and you find simple enjoyment for a few moments. Welcome to The Wonderful & Wacky World of One Single Mom

5 thoughts on “New Era”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.