Abomination

Daddy was a preacher
a high roller
in a small town
ranting his sermons on Sunday
living in sin the rest of the week.
I knew what his feelings were going to be.
I heard him pontificate on it
many a time
but my heart was sure.
I sat before him
as he glared at me
demanding that I obey
abandon the one that I love
just because it would hurt his good name.
The first lash of the belt
that one hurt the most.
Methodically
slowly he flagellated
each strip on fire
cruelty in his venom.
I cried
begged to be free
but daddy…..
refused to let me go
tying me to my bed
while I screamed with horror.
In the dark of the night
as he snored in drunken slumber
I crept away
never turning around
never looking back
fleeing that house of pain.
I can show you the scars I bear
but I have worked hard
to put them away.
The memories
flood my nightmares
as I hear his roars:
‘You are an abomination. 
God will love you no more.’
September 5/18
Photo by Matthew Henry on Unsplash

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

A single hard working mom of a soon to be teenage son. A poet and story teller I have wanted to write since I was a child. This space is where I share stories about myself and my life and the creative poetry that stirs my soul. My hope is you will pull up a chair and a cup of coffee delving into the world that I offer and you find simple enjoyment for a few moments. Welcome to The Wonderful & Wacky World of One Single Mom

7 thoughts on “Abomination”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.