Proud Momma Moment

This morning T and me had a bit of a rocky start.
I was trying to get him up and into the shower and he was grousing that it was Monday and he did not want to go to school.
Finally he moved to the shower and I got a coffee ready for him.
Yes I let him drink coffee in the morning.
Totally makes him more bearable.
And there is no way it is going to be stunting his growth
I got oatmeal ready for him and had a bowl myself all while I was hollering at him to get out here, meaning the kitchen, and make his lunch.
He came out alright and began to go on and on about not wanting to go to school.
Finally having had enough I told him that it was moot.
He was going to school.
T: We are not having a discussion mom, I am telling you the facts.
I got my lunch ready and was watching the clock.
Finally I could take no more and told T that I was leaving for work.
He was totally fine with that as he did not have to leave as early as I did.
He could leave at 8:20.
Got to work and was talking with K when she answered the phone.
And it was T.
My heart stopped.
Me: What’s up buddy.
T: Mom. I am running a bit late. I could not find my phone. And it was in the one place I would never have thought to look. Thomas was sitting on it.
Me: Okay. Thank you for calling me buddy. That was very responsible of you. Get going but do not jay walk or anything. Be careful still.
I called the school to let them know T was running behind schedule.
Tonight I told T how proud I was of him for thinking to call me and let me know what had happened.
He looked at me and said: Mom all I could think was you would kick my ass if the school called you and said I was not there.
Me: It still was a very responsible thing to do buddy. And I am very very proud of you.
He then sat down on the couch next to me and we chatted for about 45 minutes.
©Nov. 8/21
Picture is my own