Eluded-Bullets Flying

Dangled words
pulled in
wrapped around warm
love is not here
though soon it shall return
as I begin to forget you.
The way your touch felt
when you skimmed your hand
across my naked skin.
The way your lips tasted
sweet summer wine
hay scented air
fires to brighten the night.
Dance with me
one more time
I begged
I pleaded
I could not understand
why you wanted to beat me.
In consequence
I failed myself.
I bled for you
allowed you into my head
into my bed.
As the year comes close
to when I was destroyed
I have to whisper:
Happy Anniversary
Am I ever glad I dodged that bullet.

©Oct. 20/19
Picture is my own.

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

A single hard working mom of a soon to be teenage son. A poet and story teller I have wanted to write since I was a child. This space is where I share stories about myself and my life and the creative poetry that stirs my soul. My hope is you will pull up a chair and a cup of coffee delving into the world that I offer and you find simple enjoyment for a few moments. Welcome to The Wonderful & Wacky World of One Single Mom

7 thoughts on “Eluded-Bullets Flying”

    1. Thank you so much Kim. I read the prompt at about 9 a.m. of late the ex who cheated on me has been on mind. Not because of feelings but because the one year anniversary of our break up is coming. And that is when I knew what I had to write. 🤓🤓

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Wow, you weren’t kidding! We really were channeling eachother!

    This, much like all of your other pieces, is excellent. Here’s to both dodging bullets 🖤♥️

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.