Gentle Death

Oh that is right little one
This is your first time
Awwwwwww
I am so proud
The student
outfoxing the master
I should have seen this coming
You did not preen
You did not give off
The aura
The halo
That gave away the others
Come closer
Do not hesitate
Do not become jittery
Steady the shaking hand
Grimace of remorse
Slash the blade
Arterial spray
Paint the walls
Paint yourself
Bathe in
The blood of the conquered.
I hand off my mantle
With gladness
And not without
a hint of sadness
For I would love to see
To watch the escalation
The staging of your plays.
How long before they caught on?
With my final breath
I bid you adieu.
Do not mourn me little one
I have always told you
There could only be one great one
One serial killer
To perplex
To play
With those too dimwitted.
Good-bye child
Thank you for the gentle dying.

©Oct. 18/19
Picture via Pinterest

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

A single hard working mom of a soon to be teenage son. A poet and story teller I have wanted to write since I was a child. This space is where I share stories about myself and my life and the creative poetry that stirs my soul. My hope is you will pull up a chair and a cup of coffee delving into the world that I offer and you find simple enjoyment for a few moments. Welcome to The Wonderful & Wacky World of One Single Mom

9 thoughts on “Gentle Death”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.