Ugliness

I really had not wanted to go
a ball
in which one masquerades as someone else
but I went
as requested by a friend of the host.
I dressed myself as a gentleman
with tails
with top hat
a monocole on my eye
a cane in my hand
spinning as I walked the room.
Gaggles of girls
dressed in their finest
netted hair
jeweled busts
I could not help noticing
the glances thrown my way.
Off to the side
a young girl sat
alone
her dress
well
not so becoming
which I am sure she knew.
As I drew along next to her
I could hear the vicious whispers of the mean girls.
‘Do you see what she is wearing?’
‘Who told her she looked good in that color?’
The list of deficiencies included:
Hair drab and lifeless
Figure round and in need of a diet.
Nose to piggish rhinoplasty might be required.
As I listened with quiet horror
I realized that she too
this young jewel of a girl
was able to hear them.
I glided to a halt next to her
held out my hand
offering her respect
self worth
all that I can.
She placed her hand in mine
graceful as a ballerina she stood
we turned for the dance floor.
I saw those jealous girls glowering
and turned to them with a smile
my pithy comment
leaving them undone.
‘Where my young friend here will bloom with life
you shall always be ugly on the inside.’
August 31/18
Photo by Léonard Cotte on Unsplash

Boogeyman

His shadow spreads
over bitter walls
skeletal fingers
creep along
scritching
scratching
he wants to come in.
Hidden under the covers
trying to ignore the fear
counting beneath your breath
please do not let him come near.
Each footstep
each creak of the floor
an indication that he is coming closer.
Mouth working
throat closing
your scream comes out
as a whispered no.
Terror holds you tight
an embrace you cannot escape from
the door slowly opens
as you squeeze your eyes shut.
Like a child
you are convinced
that if you cannot see him
He cannot see you.
Covers slowly pulled away
a low moaning hiss
fingers pressing
nay bruising into your flesh
as you struggle to awaken
away from this horror
towards the sunrise.
August 31/18
Picture via: https://www.pinterest.ca/pin/804596289653185639/