Love Like Me

Last night
I dreamed
I walked amongst the stars
clouds beneath my feet
there was no pain
there was no sorrow
only
a peaceful understanding.
Locked deep within
the beasts brewed
howling
scratching
trying to break free
of the gilted cage
padlocked
sealed shut
I try not to peek there.
Nightmare shadows
breathing hard
putrid breath
walk away from the cages
pretend not to see……
I found you within this dream
a prince
to my princess
maybe not?
More a fighter
a saviour
easing your way in
passed the guardians
passed the door
barred
nailed shut
yet you pry at it
determined to discover what I do hide.
Find within
a broken heart
a battered soul
who do I trust
how do I tell?
At the apex
you found your way in
breaking down the barriers
the false front
that I show to all
wrapping me in tenderness
in love
in faith.
I awoke
no longer the dainty damsel
another body
another brain
another fear
why cannot I not find a love like…..
flames dancing in the fire
passion burning hot
why instead
do I always end up with heartache?
©May 8/19
Picture via Pinterest and found by The Eclectic Contrarian