He Screwed With my List

Tember likes music.
I like music.
The Ex likes music.
No this is not a Dr. Seuss like post.
I have Spotify for my music interests. Pay for the first level…..no ads……playlists…….I like it what more do I need?
Well……
Enter Tember……
He wants to listen to music.
Spotify can be downloaded to his phone so that when he is walking home from school
he has music to listen to.
Ok I am down with that.
He creates his own playlist.
Tember’s likes.
I am not paying attention…..I mean really what difference is it going to make?
It does…….it makes a whole lot of difference……
People get the family plan…..do not share with your children…..
Please let this be a cautionary tale:
Saturday morning am going to clean the apartment.
Set the laptop up on the kitchen counter…..click on Spotify……Release Radar……Play.
Dancing around washing dishes wiping counters when suddenly screaming chainsaws causing bleeding ears.
Oh hell no. Skip to next song.
Wait? What? I do not listen to screaming cats?
WTH?
Half my damn playlist is screeching death metal.
No no no no.
I have nothing against Death Metal.
I have friends who love Death Metal.
I do not understand but to each his own.
I figure some weird ass glitch. And I mean weird ass. Gave it a pass. Jumped over to my liked song list and away I went with cleaning.
Fast Forward two weeks:
Getting ready to clean apartment.
Set up laptop.
(Sensing a theme?)
Grooving around the kitchen when suddenly Country…….which I do not have an issue with….but that was all my Release Radar was filled with.
Now I am going to admit that I was a tad disgruntled. I mean seriously until now Spotify has been well spot on (pardon the sorta pun)
Again I figured that it was a wee bit of a glitch.
Until two weeks later….
I was cleaning…..
set up lap top and…..
my damn list is half screaming death metal and half pining country.
I am stupefied.
Tember is sleeping when I go roaring into his room……demanding to know……has he been listening to music on my Spotify?
Tousled and sleepy he peers at me not quite certain why mom is demanding to know about his music tastes at the ungodly hour of 11 a.m. on a Saturday morning.
Finally the mystery is solved.
Spotify has not suddenly lost its mind.
It is not trying to determine my song choices.
What it was doing was amalgamating my likes and Tember’s.
And since his tastes are a combo of his father’s and my own with his own my song list is right weird.
****I know that there are people reading this thinking does she not know about the family plan? And yes I do. However it was a half day experiment
that proved too much for myself and Tember.*****
A side benefit though is when AC/DC seamlessly segues into Taylor Swift leading up to Guns and Roses…….maybe a combined playlist is not all that bad.
June 18/20

Love of Music

I wonder what you think
looking at me
giggles
smiles
making you feel
like you are the only one
the most important
if only for a moment……
would you ever guess……
Eminem……
one of my favorites
I write to him
I dance to him
I sing to him
much to the dismay of others
lol……
Eclectic I am
tastes in music
range so wide
so far…..
Etta James
Rod Stewart
Kid Rock
Lynn Anderson
Johnny Cash
Billie Ellish
Sofi Tucker
this is but
a small sliver
petite glimpse
of my soul
music
wrapping self around
drawing me in
arms wrapped
dancing in seat
any could see
Tember is so embarrassed.
Music is my muse
sit
eyes closed
letting voices wash over
feeling to my bones
eyes open
fingers fly
epic ode
they help to birth.
©June 18/20
Picture via Pinterest