Word of the Day Challenge #115-Untitled Poem

Does the sound
that sound
ratcheting
each notch
announced with sharp click
haunt your nightmares?
Does that laughter
that laughter
braying
harsh
grating
upon ears
do you wish
that you could not hear?
Does that disdain
that disdain
wave after wave
crashing
eroding
crushing
ego so bloated
gangrene 
only cure
to lop off
offending limb.
Do you feel that terror?
That terror
do you feel it building?
Howling marauders 
banging at the door
deserted by those
who swore 
they had you the most
hidden themselves
leaving you to defend
against hoards 
coming for your soul.
At what moment did you feel them collide?
Elation fading to fear
alone
defeated
laughing stock
headline after headline 
shrieking your defeat
in delight…..
Sit alone.
Darkness is coming.
Man’s sins must be paid.
Oh dear…..
lookie here
they sent the Accountant for you.
 
©Sept. 21/20
Picture via Pinterest

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

A single hard working mom of a soon to be teenage son. A poet and story teller I have wanted to write since I was a child. This space is where I share stories about myself and my life and the creative poetry that stirs my soul. My hope is you will pull up a chair and a cup of coffee delving into the world that I offer and you find simple enjoyment for a few moments. Welcome to The Wonderful & Wacky World of One Single Mom

8 thoughts on “Word of the Day Challenge #115-Untitled Poem”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.