I am a Queen

Trying out this new thing;
Called Adulting.
I seem to have grown once more
without even realizing it.
No longer do I feel worthless
no longer do I feel alone
no longer do I speak to myself
degrading
causing panic dear.
Oh yes
the blackest voice is there
whispering
hissing
making me doubt….
myself….
my abilities….
me.
Countered with
a litney of good:
Funny
Smart
Beautiful
Independent
words to some
lifelines
to keep me sane.
I stand
the pier soaked beneath my feet
deep cleansing
breath in breath out….
Golden Girl.
Golden Queen.
Golden Princess
no more.
Queen of my life
Queen of my destiny
Queen of my confidence.
Queen of my Soul.
©Jay-lyn Doerksen
July 2/18
Photo by Matthew Brodeur on Unsplash

Final Escape

Looking around

where

how

can you hurt him?

Easy enough

leave

destroy

take him for financial gain

your heart never his

and steal his last hope.

With this last ploy

your colors fly true

showing the witch you are;

know you have lost

he will return no more.

Like a small child

you stomp your feet

mouth twisted in a scream

false tears

meaningless words

a conniption fit

missing only

the kicking

the pounding

the sense of entitlement

that truly makes you

the bitch you are.

Photo by Avgust Chech on Unsplash