Good bye My Love

I have fallen

not at your feet

but within myself

and there is no going back.

Now

you are entwined with my past

the hurt

the pain that I feel.

I wish that it had not happened this way

I wish that I could still be yours

yet I know

there is no way

that I can submit to you again.

My way of saying good-bye

it was not right

I should have explained further

I should have explained it at all

there is no way of knowing

what monsters lay in my bed.

Memories that have been hidden

you brought to the forefront

the anguish

the pain

the darkness that enveloped

I curled within myself.

Screaming in my head.

I am sorry my love

I wish it could  be different

we must walk away

while love is still everlasting.

All copy rights reserved.

Jay-lyn Doerksen

July 26/17

Eternal Hope

Sitting by the rain splattered window

watching you walk away

I should have known better

I should never have said…..

that you make me smile

that you make me warm inside

that I could see a future

one in which we were together

I should have kept my big mouth shut.

I saw the blinders come down

I saw you shutter your heart

face hard with disbelief

you stared at me

shaking your head

this was not what we had discussed.

I cannot help the way that I feel

these emotions crept up on me

I know the truth

my love is unrequited

yet my hope springs eternal.