Silenced Forever

***I feel that I need to preface this: I do not feel like this at all any more. This is a poem that is based upon the feelings that I had back in early 2018 when I was falling apart and rebuilding myself. Although this poem was written today the emotions are not the ones felt today. I am in a beautiful space in my life. Writing. Loving Myself. Parenting. Independence. Being Me. I do not want any of my readers to worry. I am awesome.****

Thorny tears
Wept upon stone gardens
Briared heart
Woven tight
Against intruders
Fingers grip
Mouth tightens
Scream silenced
Hidden in the shadows
Let not the monsters find me
I have run
I have fled
I have finally escaped
My bleeding past
The wraiths that haunt me
Only to be found once more
Haunting voices
Whispered in my ear
Talons dig
Shearing thorns
Straight to frail heart
Mauling
Tearing
Shredding
I fall
Forever manacled
Chains of rusted iron
Rage
Anguish
Never happiness
Some days
I wish my world would end
Nightmares would fade to concrete gray
Fantasies tattered remains
Float away
Awash in nothingness
Silence
Sweet Silence
Blessed be me.
©Jan. 31/20
Picture is my own.

Author: Jay-lyn Doerksen

A single hard working mom of a soon to be teenage son. A poet and story teller I have wanted to write since I was a child. This space is where I share stories about myself and my life and the creative poetry that stirs my soul. My hope is you will pull up a chair and a cup of coffee delving into the world that I offer and you find simple enjoyment for a few moments. Welcome to The Wonderful & Wacky World of One Single Mom

12 thoughts on “Silenced Forever”

    1. Thank you. I am very lucky to be able to remember how it felt without having to experience it anew. Some might think not so lucky but I am able to draw upon those emotions to create. It was an excruciating time in my life but I am all the much better for it. I became the woman I am today out of those shattered remains. Oooooooo that is a nice image! 🤓💜

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.