Harsh Reality

***There is a lot of anger here and I am not sure where it all came from. I thought this was going to be a cutesy poem about being little and it morphed big time. 
Once when I was little
I fell from the sky
bruised my knee
which a quick kiss
fixed.
Once when I was little
I was full of questions
so I experimented
with things
maybe I should not have.
Then I began to grow
as is the way of children
began to see the world around
realized
fear did begin to grow
that this is what my life was
an always would be.
I am a woman.
I am a mother.
I am a daughter.
I am a sister.
I am an Aunt.
My list goes on and on…..
this is not to say
hey look at me
see how great I am?
No this is a list
I would like men to look at
those who have difficulty with a concept
that no means no
do not touch
get out of my face
does not mean
please progress.
Look at that list
close as can be
for I know none of you
were born
fully formed
from Zeus’ forehead.
Now I ask
how does it make you feel
to think of those women
your family women attacked?
Scared to walk through the streets?
Looking over their shoulder
fearing rape?
Can you tell me true
does it not bother you
enrage you
to think of someone
without consent
touching them…….
that is what you do
when you degrade women
believe we are toys to play with.
Think twice
before you touch
think of mom
sister too
if that does not stop you
maybe a gun will.
©Jan. 21/20
Picture via Pinterest

Midnight Caller

Play a melody
tattoo a drum beat on my soul
gather my heart in your hands
handle with care.
Lost in your eyes
bewildered by your touch
where have you come from
night after night
arriving in my bed.
Hands caress
lips kiss
teeth nip
breath rasps.
Body arches
moans fill the room
lost in desire
lost in the senses
I give myself to you
abandon
take away the noise
take away the world
let me be me
let me have this space
if only for a bit.
Silent soul weeps
as you slip from beneath the sheets
I know it is time
for you to leave
to abandon
unable to catch me as I fall.
Yet still I welcome you
with warm arms
compliant thighs
when you do come to call.
©Jan. 21/20
Picture via Pinterest