And the Winner Is…..

I was not today but I certainly was yesterday. Confused yet? I would be for you have not had the pleasure of hearing the tale of the late ones.
Not sure if everyone recalls that I had made it a goal to have Tember to school no later than 9 a.m. And I was doing really well until now.
Back story to how this all came about: I was running later then usual and took the round-about a little quicker than I should have and yelled wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. Tember looks at me and shakes his head. What? I asked fairly defensively. He has taken to making fun of me a lot……only right considering all the things I make fun of him about…..You have got to be the only parent that does that going around the corner. Well it is fun leaning like you are racing. Hey do you think that that is what late parents do? Race to not be the last? (There are a few of us) Okay Tember get ready undo your seat beat I will slowly roll while you fold and roll buddy we can’t be the last ones. Tember looks at me like I am absolutely nuts and gives me a kiss. This has now become a running joke with us. And seriously I cannot be the only one…..right?
In part the reason that I am getting later is sometimes I am writing. As was the case yesterday. Another part is brushing snow off the car. Again as was the case yesterday. Warm the car up in -30 C weather before being able to get out the door to take Tember to school. And I will say that yesterday was a doozy of a day. Cold and snowing blowing the car did not even warm up at all yesterday. I told Tember that I was fairly confident that I would not be the only parent dropping their kid off late……there had to be a few of us. And there were. But I get ahead of myself.
I pull in chortling because I am not the last vehicle. I can see three more cars come whipping around the round-about. But there is snow on the back window again so I have to get out and brush off. Tember shook his head and said oh god mom you are going to be that mom this morning aren’t you? I am guessing there is a mom like me every morning. You know that parent. Daring to make themselves visible to in coming classmates. He is lucky that I did not grab him and kiss him. Waved good bye and hopped back in car. As I drove away a couple of more cars in pulled to disgorge children. I giggled to myself as I pictured the other parents who now were not the last last cheering and punching air or dancing in seat or both chanting: I’m not the last one. I’m not the last one.
Well this morning I was most definitely the last one. I think. But in my defense it felt like -39 C. It was damn cold because even with having been plugged in my car had a really rough time starting. I start work later today so I plan to run the car a good twenty minutes before leaving. Will also have to run out on breaks and run car. These temps are hard on gas that is for sure but at least gas is now under a $1 so there is the silver lining there. We all bundle up. When you live in Manitoba you really cannot gripe about the weather…..we can always move.
Stay tuned for tomorrow’s winner…..maybe it will be me!
Jan. 16/20

Candied Seduction

Fingers dip
trail through
stilled waters
eyes luminescent
passion
bodies writhing
beneath the sheets.
Warm
hot breath
blow across naked skin
arching back
tongue
flick
lick
squirm with delight
sensations heady.
Began so easily
hands held
finger brush against the palm
liquid desire
legs shake
with barely an incentive.
Words
intoxicating
ignite the fire
first kiss of the evening
gentle brush of lips
on forehead
safety first.
that is what you are
mere sight
enough to knock me to my knees
lover please
sate me
over and over
until I am no more.
©Jan. 16/20
Picture via Pinterest